Best Time to Visit Havasu Falls
Seasons, flood history and timing rules at Havasu Falls
Havasu Falls timing rests on a few stated periods: a monsoon season, cooler months suited to hiking and exploring, and a period suited to time in the water. Daytime-only access applies past Mooney Falls, and some bookings carry lead times.
Month-by-month timing
| Period | Stated months | Stated timing |
|---|---|---|
| Monsoon season | June to September | Floods can happen at any time of year |
| Cooler months | Not stated | Suited to hiking and exploring |
| Period suited to time in the water | Not stated | Suited to time in the water |
Only the monsoon season is tied to named months. The other two periods are given without months, so the table marks them as not stated.

Monsoon season and flash flooding
The entrance permit rules note that floods are not limited to one season; they can occur at any time of year.
The same rules place the monsoon season between June and September.
During flash flooding in July 2018, 200 visitors were moved out by helicopter.
Tourists left Supai over August 17 and 18, 2008, in an evacuation tied to Havasu Creek flooding.
The monsoon season is the only period in the facts with a month range. The matrix below shows the named months for it and for the two dated evacuations.
| Activity | Jan | Feb | Mar | Apr | May | Jun | Jul | Aug | Sep | Oct | Nov | Dec |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monsoon season | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | JunRuns | JulRuns | AugRuns | SepRuns | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Flash flooding and helicopter evacuation, July 2018 | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | JulRuns | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
| Evacuation from Supai, August 2008 | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | AugRuns | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |
- Runs
Each row shows only the months named in its cited fact.
What each season is like
Cooler months
The tribe describes cooler months as suited to hiking and exploring.
The stated window for walking in and out falls in early morning, the cooler part of the day.
Eight miles of trail separate Hualapai Hilltop from Supai Village.
Walking in for the day is barred, and every hiker and camper needs a reservation.
Peak season temperatures
Peak-season lows in Supai Village are given as falling into the 50s Fahrenheit.
Time in the water
Warmer months suit time in the water, but hikes in and out should be planned for early morning when it is cooler. The tribe says cooler months are ideal for hiking and exploring.
Swimming behind Havasu Falls is possible, and a small rock shelter there can be entered. Drownings have taken place in this area.
Access beyond Mooney Falls is limited to daytime hours.
In the official suggested plan, the lower waterfalls (Havasu, Mooney, Beaver) fall on day 2.

Per-activity timing
| Activity | Stated timing |
|---|---|
| Hiking in and out | Early morning, when it is cooler |
| Time in the water | Warmer months |
| Swimming behind Havasu Falls | Possible, though drownings have occurred |
| Trails beyond Mooney Falls | Daytime hours only |
| Lower waterfalls | Day 2 of the official suggested itinerary |
| Helicopter flights | Cannot be pre-booked; first-come, first-served |
| Pack mule bookings | Requested online at least 72 hours before the arrival date |
| Day hiking | Not allowed; reservation required |
| Monsoon season | June to September |
Road and arrival timing
The stated figure for the drive on Indian Road 18 is at least 1.5 hours, on pavement all the way to the trailhead.
Helicopter seats are not reserved in advance; they go in arrival order.
A pack mule request made online needs a lead time of 72 hours or more before arrival.
Bookings and costs
Each Havasupai booking covers a stay of 4 days and 3 nights.
A 2026 campground permit comes to $455 for each person, for a 3-night term.
A round-trip pack mule is $400 for each mule.
Cancellations made at least 90 days before the permit start date are refunded at 50% of the permit fee, and the early access fee is outside that refund.
- 4 days and 3 nightsBooking length
- $455 per person2026 campground permit
- $400 per mulePack mule, round trip
- 72 hoursPack mule request lead time
- 50%Refund on cancellation
On-site services and rules
A visit comes without any guaranteed WiFi or cellular signal.
Tourists can use the Supai store and cafe between 8am and 5pm, every day.
Medical and health facilities open to the public are not present in Supai Village.
Across the whole reservation, pets, service animals and privately owned horses are excluded.
Questions about timing
Frequently asked questions
Which months does the monsoon season cover?
The entrance permit rules give June to September for the monsoon season, and they add that floods can happen at any time of year.
Are particular months named for cooler hiking weather?
No months are named. The tribe describes cooler months as suited to hiking and exploring.
Can a day trip be made to Havasupai?
No. Day hiking into Havasupai is not allowed, and a reservation covers every hiker and camper.
How long is a Havasupai booking?
All bookings are for 4 days and 3 nights.
How much of the permit fee is refunded on cancellation?
50% of the permit fee, if cancelled at least 90 days before the permit start date. The early access fee is excluded.
What drive time is stated for Indian Road 18?
At least 1.5 hours, on a paved road to the trailhead.
Which animals are barred from the reservation?
Pets, service animals and privately owned horses are barred.
Related pages
Sources
- Havasupai Entrance Permit Rules and Regulations - Havasupai Reservations
- FAQs - Havasupai Reservations
- What is the best time of year to visit? – Havasupai Reservation Support
- Supai, Arizona
- Homepage - Havasupai Reservations
- Havasupai Tribe Reservation - Grand Canyon National Park (U.S. National Park Service)
- Havasu Falls